Join Our Group

Again, FG imposes travel restriction on 100 travellers for violating COVID-19 protocol


The federal government has placed travel restriction on 100 travellers for violating COVID-19 protocol.

The presidential task force on COVID-19 published the passport numbers of the affected persons on Twitter on Tuesday.

The 100 persons are those who failed to comply with the mandatory seven days post-arrival COVID-19 test.

The PTF said the penalty is a six-month travel restriction from February 5 to July 30.

This is the second time the PTF is imposing travel restriction on passengers as a form of sanction for non-compliance with COVID-19 guidelines.

On January 2, the PTF released passport numbers of 100 Nigerians who refused to undergo the mandatory COVID-19 test after returning to the country.

Travellers are mandated to run the test seven days after their arrival.

Sani Aliyu, the national coordinator of the PTF, had said the passport holders will be suspended from travelling for a minimum of six months adding that the visas of foreigners who evade the mandatory test would be revoked.

The Lagos state government has also threatened to deactivate the passports of travellers refusing to comply with COVID-19 testing protocols.

According to Akin Abayomi, the state’s commissioner for health, some travellers do not show up at COVID-19 testing centres upon arrival despite paying for the test.