Join Our Group

APC victory in Bayelsa sparks wild jubilation, seen as new dawn


The people of Bayelsa have been jubilating as the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) announced the results of last Saturday governorship poll from seven out of the eight local government areas in the state.

The only local government area yet to be announced is Ekeremor.

The All Progressive Congress (APC) has so far won in the five local government areas, while the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won in two.

Announcing the results by the Returning Officer for the election, Prof. Faraday Orumwense, Vice-chancellor, University of Benin, said in Ogbia, that APC pulled 58, 016 votes to beat PDP that got 13, 763 votes in the local government.

The Broom symbol has become popular in Ogbia

According to Orumwense, APC also won in Brass, Nembe and Yenagoa and Southern Ijaw local government areas.

PDP led in Sagbama and Kolokumo/Opokuma local government areas.

Mr Keme Jude, a resident, told NAN that the results so far announced were commendable, noting that with APC, a new Bayelsa would emerge.

Sweeping off PDP in Bayelsa

“You see, people are already jubilating even when the total result has not been released.

”I know that our people already know that with the results so far announced, we are heading to a new Bayelsa.

“This should be our early dance to the promise land because we are heading to a new Bayelsa with the APC and the candidate, David Lyon.

Mr Samuel Agada, Party Agent of the United Party of Nigeria (UPN), said “the results so far announced has spoken and they are happy.”

NAN reports that six out of the eight local government areas had so far been announced by INEC; APC won in four while PDP won in two