Saturday, February 4, 2023
HomeNationalAyo Akinwole re-elected UI ASUU chairman amid tension

Ayo Akinwole re-elected UI ASUU chairman amid tension

The University of Ibadan (UI) chapter of the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) has re-elected Ayo Akinwole as its chairman for a second term of two years.

According to NAN, the election held during the union’s biennial congress at the varsity on Thursday.

It is understood that the election was filled with tension as some people kicked against Akinwole’s re-election.

Akinwole won the election after securing 270 YES votes against 161 NO.

The YES votes represented those who wanted Akinwole to continue as the chairman, while NO were those against his continuity in office.

Seun Garuba was also elected secretary of the branch after defeating Olisa Muojama, his opponent.

Akewula Adams was returned as the financial secretary while Moses Adetona was elected as assistant secretary of the union.

Emmanuel Osodeke, ASUU president, was represented at the event by Oyebamiji Oyegoke, Ibadan zonal coordinator of the union, who declared the election results

Other leaders of the union who were on ground to witness the election include Dele Ashiru from University of Lagos (UNILAG), Moyosore Ajao from University of Ilorin (UNILORIN), and Babatunde Lawal from Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso.

They also include Akinloye Oyewunmi from Lagos State University, Gbenga Adeleye from University of Agriculture, Malete Dauda Adesola from Kwara State University, and Anthony Odiwe from Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular